Caribbean Sports Roundup

By
NAN Sports Editor

News Americas, NEW YORK,
NY, Fri. Sept. 6, 2019
:
Here
are the top stories making Caribbean sports news for the week ending, Sept. 6,
2019:

Bahamas Born Athletes
Raising Money For Ravaged Islands

Freeport, Bahamas born Sacramento
Kings Chavano Rainer “Buddy” Hield and Connecticut Sun forward, Jonquel
Jones, are both raising money to help family and friends devastated by
Hurricane Dorian.

Jones has set up a page
on the crowdfunding site GoFundMe, hoping to raise $50,000 for the archipelago.
She donated $10,000 and the page had over $31,000 as of Thursday evening.

She said she and the
other organizers of the crowdfunding page are still deciding which relief
organizations will receive the funds, but Jones vowed to make sure all of the
money got to people in need.

Kings guard, Buddy Hield,
has donated $100,000 to the Buddy Hield Foundation and started a GoFundMe
campaign with a goal of raising $1 million to further help Bahamians in need.
As of last night he had raised over USD 50,000.

“My heart aches for those
impacted by Hurricane Dorian, especially those in my home country of the
Bahamas,” said Hield. “My goal is to raise funding to aid in the relief efforts
for the communities that have been hit by this devastating hurricane and to
help the people of the Bahamas rebuild.”

The Sacramento Kings
Foundation, the Buddy Hield Foundation, Ranadivé Foundation, and Jacobs Family,
including Debby and Hal Jacobs, Genevieve and Paul Jacobs and Annie and Jeff
Jacobs are collectively donating $105,000 to UNICEF USA to aid those impacted
by Hurricane Dorian in the Bahamas.

It’s CPL Time

The Caribbean Premier
League (CPL), a clash of national cricket teams in the region, bowled off on
September 4, 2019, at the Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain in Trinidad.

The defending champions
Trinbago Knight Riders took on the St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots in the
tournament opener and

Last night, September 5th,
the Guyana Amazon Warriors took on the St Lucia Zouks in Guyana.

The other matches in the
tourney are as follows:

September 06, Friday

Match 3- Trinbago Knight
Riders vs Jamaica Tallawahs (Trinidad)

September 07, Saturday

Match 4- Guyana Amazon
Warriors vs St Kitts and Nevis Patriots (Guyana)

September 08, Sunday

Match 5- Trinbago Knight
Riders vs St Lucia Zouks (Trinidad)

Match 6- Guyana Amazon
Warriors vs Barbados Tridents (Guyana)

September 10, Tuesday

Match 7- St Kitts and
Nevis Patriots vs Jamaica Tallawahs (St Kitts)

September 11, Wednesday

Match 8- St Kitts and
Nevis Patriots vs Barbados Tridents (St Kitts)

September 12, Thursday

Match 9- Jamaica
Tallawahs vs St Lucia Zouks (Jamaica) Local Time-

September 13, Friday

Match 10- Jamaica
Tallawahs vs Trinbago Knight Riders (Jamaica)

September 14, Saturday

Match 11- St Kitts and
Nevis Patriots vs Guyana Amazon Warriors (St Kitts)

September 15, Sunday

Match 12- Jamaica
Tallawahs vs Barbados Tridents (Jamaica)

Match 13- St Kitts and
Nevis Patriots vs St Lucia Zouks (St Kitts)

September 17, Tuesday

Match 14- St Kitts and
Nevis Patriots vs Trinbago Knight Riders

September 18, Wednesday

Match 15- Jamaica
Tallawahs vs Guyana Amazon Warriors (Jamaica)

September 19, Thursday

Match 16- Jamaica
Tallawahs vs St Kitts and Nevis Patriots (Jamaica)

September 20, Friday

Match 17- St Lucia Zouks
vs Barbados Tridents (St Lucia)

September 21, Saturday

Match 18- St Lucia Zouks
vs Trinbago Knight Riders (St Lucia)

September 22, Sunday

Match 19- Barbados
Tridents vs Guyana Amazon Warriors (Barbados)

September 23, Monday

Match 20- Barbados
Tridents vs Jamaica Tallawahs (Barbados)

September 24, Tuesday

Match 21- St Lucia Zouks
vs St Kitts and Nevis Patriots (St Lucia)

September 25, Wednesday

Match 22- St Lucia Zouks
vs Guyana Amazon Warriors (St Lucia)

September 26, Thursday

Match 23- Barbados
Tridents vs Trinbago Knight Riders (Barbados)

September 27, Friday

Match 24- St Lucia Zouks
vs Jamaica Tallawahs (St Lucia)

September 28, Saturday

Match 25- Barbados
Tridents vs St Kitts and Nevis Patriots (Barbados)

September 29, Sunday

Match 26- Barbados
Tridents vs St Lucia Zouks (Barbados)

September 30, Monday

Match 27- Trinbago Knight
Riders vs Guyana Amazon Warriors (Trinidad)

October 02, Wednesday

Match 28- Trinbago Knight
Riders vs Barbados Tridents (Trinidad)

October 03, Thursday

Match 29- Guyana Amazon
Warriors vs Jamaica Tallawahs (Guyana)

October 04, Friday

Match 30- Guyana Amazon
Warriors vs Trinbago Knight Riders (Guyana)

October 06, Sunday

Qualifier 1 – 1st v 2nd

Eliminator – 3rd v 4th

October 10, Thursday

Qualifier 2- Winner of
Eliminator v Loser of Qualifier 1 (Trinidad)

October 12, Saturday

Final- Winner of
Qualifier 1 v Winner of Qualifier 2 (Trinidad)  (Oct. 13)

Usain Bolt Invests In
‘Let’s Do This’

Jamaican-born triple
Olympian, Usain Bolt, is among those providing seed funding for ‘Let’s Do This,’
a Y Combinator alumni startup platform for global listings of endurance events,
from a 5K fun run to an Ironman triathlon. The company says it lists “more
mass-participation sports events than any other website on the planet.” These
include running, triathlon, cycling, obstacle racing, swimming, and many
others.

Dominican Republic Beaten
At FIBA

The Dominican Republic
basketball team lost to France Thursday in their first round Group G match
against France in the FIBA basketball world cup China 2019 competition. The DR
lost 56-90 and are now out of the competition. Puerto Rico moves on to the
second round after beating Lithuania 67-64.

The post Caribbean Sports Roundup appeared first on Caribbean and Latin America Daily News.